Tax Commissioner


Upson County Tax Commissioner

PO Box 409

Courthouse Annex, 1st Floor

116 W. Main Street

Thomaston, GA 30286

Phone (706)647-8931

Contact: Andy Chastain


Office Hours: M-F 8am to 4:45pm

Andy Chastain-Tax Commissioner
Angela Raines-Chief Deputy Tax Commissioner


 The Upson County Board of Commissioners does hereby announce that the millage rate will be set at a meeting to be held at the Thomaston Upson Government Complex, 106 East Lee Street on August 22, 2017 at 5:00 p.m., and pursuant to the requirements of O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-32 does hereby publish the following presentation of the current year's digest and along with the history of the tax digest for the past five years. Click Here to view the proposed disgest and 5 year history.

The County Tax Commissioner is a Constitutional Elected Officer elected by the voters of their county to serve a four year term.  The duties and responsibilities of this office are many and varied, but our main function is to serve you, the citizens of our community.

 The County Tax Commissioner is the official responsible for receiving tax returns filed by tax payers or designating the board of tax assessors to receive them; receiving and processing applications for homestead exemptions; serving as agent of the State Revenue Commissioner for the registration of motor vehicles; and performing all functions relating to billing, collecting, disbursing, and accounting for all ad valorem taxes collected in this county.